Portrait of a Tree, Olympic Peninsula, Olympic National Forest, Washington, Trails, Hall of Ferns

Portrait of a Tree ~ Hall of Mosses

I love trees. I grew up hiding in them, swinging from them, and scaling them. I always felt safe and protected sheltered in the leaves, supported by strong limbs, calmed by the gentle swaying and mesmerized by sunlight streaming and light dancing in. I love to run trails that take me through them dashing over roots, and logs, feeling wild and free, one with the wood nymphs and sprites. I am always more at ease amongst the trees. They are nurturing, playful, powerful, silent and wise, resilient and resourceful, and strong.  I have been terrified by the trees and have felt their fury as well as their calm. A night spent in the forest filled my heart with fear. The darkness was loud with sounds of boughs ripping, breaking and crashing to the ground. Giant trees were swaying, bending, whipping back and forth and sometimes yielding. Trees are to be respected and revered.

Portrait of a Tree project begins. With a few favorites from the Hall of Mosses.
I dedicate this project to Wangari Maathai  for her inspiring work empowering women and planting trees!

Portrait of a Tree, Olympic Peninsula, Olympic National Forest, Washington, Trails, Hall of FernsPortrait of a Tree, Olympic Peninsula, Olympic National Forest, Washington, Trails, Hall of MossesPortrait of a Tree, Olympic Peninsula, Olympic National Forest, Washington, Trails, Hall of Mosses

Portrait of a Tree, Olympic Peninsula, Olympic National Forest, Washington, Trails, Hall of Mosses

Portrait of a Tree, Olympic Peninsula, Olympic National Forest, Washington, Trails, Hall of Mosses

2 thoughts on “Portrait of a Tree ~ Hall of Mosses

Leave a comment