My Heart is Aflutter for The Dance of the Magnificent

The Magnificent Hummingbird of the Chiriqui Highlands darts and dashes in and out, around and through my line of vision tying it into bows and knots. I try to follow the lines and realize patience and focus will reveal the best presents. I pick a spot and stare. I ignore the whooshes, the vrooms, the swooshing sounds, swishing beside my ear drums. It is the dance of the magnificent, complete with the sounds of gasps and oos and ahs as I stop still in my tracks to witness the energy and vibrating colors. I marvel at this tiny bird. Here and gone. Flash. Whir. Flutter. There and gone. Pause. Hover. Flash. Dive. Repeat. Flutter Down

Flutter Neutral

Flutter Vertical

A hummingbird’s heart beats up to 1260 times per minute. A human heart beats on average up to 70 times a minute.

A hummingbird’s heart is 2.5% of the total body weight. A human heart is less than 0.5% of the total body weight.

A hummingbird takes up to 250 breathes per minute while at rest. A human will take up to 12-18 breathes per minute.

A hummingbirds brain is 4.2% of its body weight. A human’s brain is 2% of the total body weight.

*To learn more facts about hummingbirds visit WorldofHummingbirds.com

One thought on “My Heart is Aflutter for The Dance of the Magnificent

  1. Pingback: Favorite Moments & Images from 2013 | LOUISE LAKIER PHOTOGRAPHY

Leave a Reply

