Run Like A Turtle on World Turtle Day

The turtles stay cool in the pool. There is no room in there for me. Here in this house they wallow like hippopotami and stretch their necks out reaching for the sun. These little water babies multiply like bunnies. They move surprisingly fast and are surprisingly stealthful. I have grown accustomed to the sound of the turtle flop.

I watched a sea turtle crawl out of the ocean one day and make its way over rocks. It struggled and flailed and worked so strenuously. It was so magical and painful to watch but I did not want to intervene. I hoped he would not see it as he rode by on the beach, but a local villager plucked her up and carried her to a softer sandy spot. I tried to explain to him they are protected, I stayed as long as I could to watch over her.

Happy World Turtle Day everyone!

Tortugas, Turtles, World Turtle Day, Swimming, Extinction, Habitats, Staying Cool, In the Pool Tortugas, Turtles, World Turtle Day, Swimming, Extinction, Habitats, Staying Cool, In the Pool Tortugas, Turtles, World Turtle Day, Swimming, Extinction, Habitats, Staying Cool, In the Pool

Leave a Reply

