Birds, Nicaragua, Pelicans, Landing, Central America, El Gigante, Wildlife, Travel Photography, Nature

In My Backyard ~ Playa El Gigante

My backyard is constantly changing. Yesterday and for the next days, it a beautiful stretch of beach called Playa El Gigante in Nicaragua. Early morning is the best time to find creatures on the beach in the gorgeous soft morning light. Today I scrambled along the rocks forming the southernmost edge of Gigante, happily using my bouldering techniques. I stepped gingerly as my feet were bare and the boulders were rough and sharp to the touch. I reached the point and sat quietly watching pelican rock.

Flight, Pelican, Nicaragua, Birds, Wildlife, Central America, Travel Photography, Nature, Sea LifeBirds, Nicaragua, Pelicans, Landing, Central America, El Gigante, Wildlife, Travel Photography, NatureOn my return I encountered a stork standing on one leg in the shadows. Upon closer inspection it was clear the lower half of his leg was not tucked away but missing.

Birds, Stork, One Legged Bird, Nicaragua, El Gigante, Wildlife, Central America, Travel Photography I was hoping to capture some action in the tidal pools. I noticed a line of four hermit crabs rocking back and forth in the sand. The first shell was upside down and a crab was crouching as far inside as it could. The crabs were lined up by size. They were ‘evicting’ the crab in the biggest shell! Read more about this behavior here.

Hermit Crab, Beach, Shells, El Gigante, Wildlife, Nature, Travel PhotographyHermit Crabs, Crabs, Shells, Beach, Nicaragua, El Gigante, Wildlife, Travel, Central AmericaTo see more images from Playa El Gigante visit my Smugmug page here. 

Or look for future posts!

Leave a Reply

